Eskimo Quality

Since 1854

Eskimo Quality - Since 1854

Join us in and become a part of our world of textile temptation. A touch of cashmere as light and as delicate as a feather awakens your senses, colours allow your imagination to bloom – Eskimo products are inspirational ideas which are brimming with emotions! They are a reflection of creativity, highest standards of quality and demonstrate the diverse array of weave structures – unique designs coupled with colourfulness. We aim to offer exclusive designs, innovative and sustainable manufacturing processes and personal and tailored service – all with a great deal of love for our textiles.

The crowning glory of each and every Eskimo plaid is the savoir faire which has been passed down through generations of passionate and experienced experts. This stands both for outstanding craftsmanship skills and a tradition of innovation. 

History

The woolen goods factory Schweiz. Wollwarenfabrik Neu-Pfungen is founded by Ferdinand Ernst in 1854. The company processes cotton, wool, silk, camel hair, alpaca wool, llama wool, etc. sourced from all over the world. A number of renowned textile machinery manufacturers such as Sulzer and Rieter are established in Switzerland, as are clothing companies in the Winterthur region which occupy a leading position in the area of fashion. Eskimo is launched as a brand name in 1973 and stands for quality blankets made in Switzerland. Eskimo Textil AG earns itself international renown with its production of in-flight blankets, sleep blankets, travel blankets, throws and children’s blankets, as well as fabrics for uniforms.
The business activities are consolidated in Turbenthal in 1983. To more effectively leverage the textiles line of business, a classic management buyout is implemented at Eskimo Textil AG in 2013. The textiles division is transferred to Eskitex AG. Since then, the textile products have been designed, developed, produced and distributed by Eskitex AG under the brand name Eskimo Switzerland.

Eskimo Quality

Since 1854

Eskimo Qualität – Seit 1854

Tauchen Sie ein und werden Sie Teil unserer Welt der textilen Verführung. Ein Hauch von Kaschmir, so leicht und zart wie eine Feder weckt Ihre Sinne, Farben lassen Ihre Fantasie erblühen – Eskimo-Produkte sind inspirierende Ideen mit grossen Emotionen! Sie widerspiegeln Kreativität, höchsten Qualitätsanspruch, zeigen die Vielfalt an Webstrukturen, einzigartigen Designs gepaart mit Colourness. Unsere Ansprüche sind exklusive Designs, innovative und nachhaltige Herstellungsverfahren sowie persönlichem und individuellem Service – alles mit viel Liebe zu unseren Textilien.

Die Krönung jeder Eskimo Plaid ist das Savoir-Faire, welches über Generationen von passionierten und erfahrenen Spezialisten weitergegeben wurde. Neben den herausragenden handwerklichen Kompetenzen auch eine Tradition der Innovation. 

Geschichte

Ferdinand Ernst gründet die «Schweiz. Wollwarenfabrik Neu-Pfungen» 1854. Verarbeitet werden Baumwolle, Wolle, Seide, Kamelhaar, Alpaka, Lama usw., die weltweit bezogen werden.  In der Schweiz entstehen zahlreiche namhafte Textilmaschinenhersteller (u.a. Sulzer und Rieter) und Konfektionsbetriebe in der Region Winterthur, welche im modischen Bereich eine führende Stellung einnehmen. Eskimo wird im Jahr 1973 als Markennamen eingeführt und steht für Qualitätsdecken aus der Schweiz. Mit der Produktion von hochwertigen Flugzeug-, Schlaf-, Reise-, Couch-, und Kinderdecken sowie Uniformstoffe erlangt Eskimo Textil AG internationalen Ruhm.
Die Konzentration auf Turbenthal ist im Jahr 1983 erfolgt. Um die Sparte Textil wirkungsvoller zu bearbeiten erfolgt 2013 durch Eskimo Textil AG ein klassisches Managementbuyout. Der textile Teil wurde neu in die Eskitex AG überführt. Seither werden die textilen Produkte unter dem Markennamen Eskimo Switzerland durch die Eskitex AG entworfen, entwickelt, hergestellt und vertrieben.